Graduate Students

Matias Bascuñan
Major Interests: Political Theory; Deconstruction; Literary Theory; Intersections between language and temporality; Latin american neo-baroque literature; El Albo
matias.bascunan@emory.edu

Jonathan Basile
Major Interests: Derrida, deconstruction, 20th century literary criticism and theory, ancient philosophy, modern French and German philosophy, aesthetics of prejudice, literary comedy and paronomasia, Borges.
jonathan.edward.basile@emory.edu

Natalie Catasús
Major Interests: Cuban and Caribbean literature and visual culture, postcolonial studies, migration studies, poetry and poetics, translation, visual studies, maritime studies, exhibition theory and practice, and oral history and ethnography.
n.catasus@emory.edu

Benjamin Clary
Major Interests: Irish literature, particularly that of James Joyce, Samuel Beckett, and Flann O'Brien; European high-modernism (particularly Irish and British); ethical theory and its intersection with literary theory; political theory, particularly radical democracy; 20th century French theory (Bataille, Levinas, Blanchot); linguistic hybridity and novels employing "rotten english"; and Bakhtin.
bclary@emory.edu

Ryan Fics
Major Interests: Animality; humanism; biopolitics; political theology; ontology; sovereignty; deconstruction; Greco-Roman mythology and sculpture; the fable, fairy tale, and children's literature; literary theory; psychoanalysis; ethics; the gift; sacrifice; and philosophy of religion.
ryan.fics@emory.edu

Rachel Gardner
Major interests include literary theory, continental philosophy, Derrida, Bataille, ethics, and modern French literature.
rachel.gardner@emory.edu

Amir Hussain
Major Interests: 20th century Bengali poetry; poetry and poetics; postcolonial studies; critical theory of the Frankfurt School.
amir.hussain@emory.edu

Tiara Jackson
Major Interests: Blackness and Islam, cultural production, psychoanalytic theory, queer theory, feminism, post-colonial studies, and the Francophone African Diaspora.
tiara.raven.marie.jackson@emory.edu

Andrew Kingston
Major Interests: Literature and Materiality, Antihumanism, Bataille, Surrealism, Psychoanalysis (esp. Kristeva), Hegel, Literary Theory, Philosophy of Nature, Apophasis.
andrew.kingston@emory.edu

Judith Levy
Major Interests: post-colonial literature and theory, particularly within the Francophone Caribbean and North Africa, post-structuralism, feminist theory, and memory studies.
j.t.levy@emory.edu

Kevin Lucas
Major Interests: the Russian and Irish avant-garde; Beckett and Joyce; and the depiction of quietist philosophies and theologies in narratives.
k.p.lucas@emory.edu

Armando Mastrogiovanni
Major Interests: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature in English; German, and French (modernism); deconstruction; psychoanalysis (ethics aesthetics and politics); ontersection of literature and philosophy around questions of rights, sovereignty, and citizenship (deconstruction and political theory).
ammastr@emory.edu

Brendan Moore
Major Interests: West African and Caribbean women's literatures, 19th and 20th century African American literature, postcolonial and transnational feminism, queer theory, affect, colonial and postcolonial reading practices.
brendan.thomas.d'albani.moore@emory.edu

Catherene Ngoh
Major Interests: Kant, Kleist, Benjamin; romanticism and revolution; critique, aesthetics and morality.
catherene.ngoh@emory.edu

Eric Flohr Reynolds
Major Interests: Hermeneutics, Critical Theory, German Idealism, Phenomenology, Psychoanalysis, Romanticism, Pragmatism, The Ethics of Aesthetics and the Aesthetics of Ethics.
efreyno@emory.edu

David Ritchie
Major Interests: Queer Theory, Affect Theory, Feminist Theory, Deconstruction, Psychoanalysis, Object Relations, Attachment Theory, Aesthetics, Critical Theory, German Studies, Political Theory, Derrida, Nietzsche, Benjamin, Wilde, and American Literature.
dritchi@emory.edu

Melinda Robb
Major Interests: phenomenology's trajectory and critiques (Descartes to Levinas, Merleau Ponty, Lyotard), and its manifestation in literature; hermeneutics; ethical theories; contemporary literature -- post-modern, post-colonial, post-ironic (particularly the latter); affect; experiments with narrative and its fracture; deconstruction.
melinda.robb@emory.edu

Violeta Ruiz Espigares
Major Interests: Gift theory, welfare theory, and almsgiving; philosophy of music; mysticism; affect and recognition; Bataille; Agamben; and Honneth.
vruizes@emory.edu

Abby Scribner
Major Interests: Literature of cities, spatial studies and human geography, contemporary postcolonial literature, Marxism, transnational feminisms.
ascribn@emory.edu

Federica Signorini
Major Interests: Critical Theory, Deconstruction, Ecocriticism, Modernism & Modernity, Political Theory, Queer Theory.
federica.signorini@emory.edu

Rodrigo Therezo
Major Interests: Geschlecht.
rodrigo.therezo@emory.edu

Cameron Thurber
Major Interests: literary encounters between humans and objects, specifically machines, analyzed via French psychoanalytical and post-structuralist philosophy.
cameron.thurber@emory.edu

Daniel Yu
Major Interests: Gift, reciprocity, commerce and ethics in confessional texts and eighteenth-century novels.
daniel.yu@emory.edu